SCREAM OF THE DAY FOR THURSDAY

Baby Firefly Jun 22, 2017 | 0Comments
The Bird With The Crystal Plumage

The Bird With The Crystal Plumage

NEW RELEASE LIMITED EDITION

Available at

Deal availability may change without notice! Prices may vary from store to store. Due to international copyright, availability and pricing may vary outside of the US.

DESCRIPTION:

In 1970, young first-time director Dario Argento (Deep Red, Suspiria) made his indelible mark on Italian cinema with The Bird with the Crystal Plumage a film which redefined the 'giallo' genre of murder-mystery thrillers and catapulted him to international stardom.

Sam Dalmas (Tony Musante, We Own the Night), an American writer living in Rome, inadvertently witnesses a brutal attack on a woman (Eva Renzi, Funeral in Berlin) in a modern art gallery. Powerless to help, he grows increasingly obsessed with the incident. Convinced that something he saw that night holds the key to identifying the maniac terrorizing Rome, he launches his own investigation parallel to that of the police, heedless of the danger to both himself and his girlfriend Giulia (Suzy Kendall, Spasmo)...

A staggeringly assured debut, The Bird with the Crystal Plumage establishes the key traits that would define Argento's filmography, including lavish visuals and a flare for wildly inventive, brutal scenes of violence. With sumptuous cinematography by Vittorio Storaro (Apocalypse Now) and a seductive score by legendary composer Ennio Morricone (Once Upon a Time in the West), this landmark film has never looked or sounded better in this new, 4K-restored limited edition from Arrow Video!

LIMITED EDITION CONTENTS

-- Brand new 4K restoration of the film from the camera negative in its original 2.35:1 aspect ratio, produced by Arrow Video exclusively for this release
-- High Definition Blu-ray (1080p) and Standard Definition DVD presentations
-- Original mono Italian and English soundtracks (lossless on the Blu-ray Disc)
-- English subtitles for the Italian soundtrack
-- Optional English subtitles for the deaf and hard of hearing for the English soundtrack
-- New audio commentary by Troy Howarth, author of So Deadly, So Perverse: 50 Years of Italian Giallo Films
-- The Power of Perception, a new visual essay on the cinema of Dario Argento by Alexandra Heller-Nicholas, author of Devil's Advocates: Suspiria and Rape-Revenge Films: A Critical Study
-- New analysis of the film by critic Kat Ellinger
-- New interview with writer/director Dario Argento
-- New interview with actor Gildo Di Marco (Garullo the pimp)
-- Reversible sleeve featuring original and newly commissioned artwork by Candice Tripp
-- Limited edition 60-page booklet illustrated by Matthew Griffin, featuring an appreciation of the film by Michael Mackenzie, and new writing by Howard Hughes and Jack Seabrook


FREE & BARGAIN EBOOKS – {06-22-2017}

Baby Firefly Jun 22, 2017 | 0Comments
Rogue's Hollow by Jan Tilley

Rogue's HollowJan Tilley

FREE

Available Through June 22 at

Deal availability may change without notice! Prices may vary from store to store. Due to international copyright, availability and pricing may vary outside of the US.

DESCRIPTION:

In a place where legend and unspoken truths have been hidden for centuries, how much longer will it be before the secrets are revealed? The deceptions are frightening, but the truth is terrifying...

Malachi Chidester runs the Old Mill General Store in the quaint, small town of Rogue's Hollow, Ohio. Many secrets hide in the dungeons of this old mill.

When Malachi befriends a young man from a neighboring town, the horrific truth is finally exposed. Both men will be forced to face the traumatic details of their past and make decisions which will lead them down a dark and uncertain path.

Ghosts are the least of their concerns. Is history destined to repeat itself or will someone have the courage to stand up to the evil which looms in the shadows of Rogue's Hollow?

Show Me More: Satanic & Occult Horror

DMZ: A Dinosaur Thriller by Rick Chesler

DMZ: A Dinosaur ThrillerRick Chesler

99¢

Available Through June 22 at

Deal availability may change without notice! Prices may vary from store to store. Due to international copyright, availability and pricing may vary outside of the US.

DESCRIPTION:

AN IMPULSIVE DECISION AT THE WORLD'S MOST DANGEROUS BORDER.

A THRIVING WILDERNESS SHELTERING A PREHISTORIC SECRET.

Six friends on a tourist trip to the Korean DMZ have their lives changed forever when they decide to step into a no-man's land. But they soon discover that a border is not the only line they've crossed.
A revealed secret between them causes bad blood to spill over, preventing the friends from cooperating. With the specter of capture by a totalitarian regime awaiting them should they stray too far off course, and with a pack of primordial predators roaming the woods, the wayward travelers must find a way to set aside their differences if they are to avoid becoming either political prisoners… or prey.

Show Me More: Horror

Sunshine by Robin McKinley

SunshineRobin McKinley

BARGAIN

Available Through June 22 at

Deal availability may change without notice! Prices may vary from store to store. Due to international copyright, availability and pricing may vary outside of the US.

DESCRIPTION:

A small-town baker uses her own magic to confront a post–vampire apocalypse world in this award-winning urban fantasy Neil Gaiman called “pretty much perfect.”

Although it had been mostly deserted since the Voodoo Wars, there hadn’t been any trouble out at the lake for years. Rae Seddon, nicknamed Sunshine, head baker at her family’s busy and popular café in downtown New Arcadia, needed a place to get away from all the noise and confusion—of the clientele and her family. Just for a few hours. Just to be able to hear herself think.
 
She knew about the Others, of course. Everyone did. And several of her family’s best regular customers were from SOF—Special Other Forces—which had been created to deal with the threat and the danger of the Others.
 
She drove out to her family’s old lakeside cabin and sat on the porch, swinging her feet and enjoying the silence and the silver moonlight on the water.
 
She never heard them coming. Of course, you don’t when they’re vampires.
 
Fans of Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Sookie Stackhouse will cheer for this tough and quirky heroine. In Sunshine, which won the Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature, McKinley has a vampire novel that is “a smart, funny tale of suspense and romance” (San Francisco Chronicle).
 

Show Me More: Dark Fantasy

The Trip by Tim Morgan

The TripTim Morgan

FREE

Available Through June 22 at

Deal availability may change without notice! Prices may vary from store to store. Due to international copyright, availability and pricing may vary outside of the US.

DESCRIPTION:

Fans of the zombie genre would enjoy this story - part coming of age story: part zombie apocalypse. An original spin on a crowded genre unfolds in this story of growing up as the world falls apart.

Meghan, Dave and Chris have planned the trip of a lifetime: they're going to spend the summer after their senior year of high school on a bicycle trip across America. As they plan their trip, a previously unidentified flu virus is detected in Mumbai, India and begins a relentless march across the globe.

As the three teens set out on their journey, details begin to emerge about the virus, which is not a simple flu virus…this virus turns its victims into flesh-eating zombies. And it's on our doorstep.

The three make a desperate bid for home through infected territory. Can they survive THE TRIP?

Show Me More: Horror

White by Tim Lebbon

WhiteTim Lebbon

99¢

Available Through June 22 at

Deal availability may change without notice! Prices may vary from store to store. Due to international copyright, availability and pricing may vary outside of the US.

DESCRIPTION:

You can run, but you can't hide...

"… striking and innovative" – Nick Gevers, SF Site


First comes the Ruin.

Society crumbles.

Then comes the snow.

A handful of survivors flee to a Cornish mansion, seeking peace and safety. Instead, they find themselves under siege from the things now inhabiting the snowscape outside … fleeting, terrifying things seen only on the periphery.

And as the danger and horror builds, they come to learn that there are also enemies inside...

White is a gripping horror novella sure to delight fans of Stephen King and Simon Clark.

Show Me More: Apocalyptic Horror

The Wordsmith by Alan Ayer

The WordsmithAlan Ayer

99¢

Available Through July 14 at

Deal availability may change without notice! Prices may vary from store to store. Due to international copyright, availability and pricing may vary outside of the US.

DESCRIPTION:

Walt Erickson is a famous author whose books are read by millions of adoring fans, but he has never written a word of his own novels. The secret behind his novels is the stuff of nightmares.

With his agent, an associate, and a particularly unique typewriter by his side, Walt's creative process is much more sinister and merciless than the average writer's. The lengths to which one man will go to achieve fame and notoriety give a chilling glimpse into what humans are capable of, regardless of the moral consequences.

The Wordsmith is a thrilling and darkly innovative story of suspense, one that will force you to wonder if we can ever truly know the whole story behind the people we love. Is it possible to unearth the darkest details of ourselves and still come out alive?

As Walt's hunger for fame continues to grow, and his girlfriend begins to suspect the unsettling truth behind his words, the tenuous threads holding Walt's life together begin to fray.

From the astoundingly imaginative mind of Alan Ayer, The Wordsmith is a gripping narrative that dares to peer into the shadows of the darkest aspects of humanity. Our story--our fate in life--is often written against our will.

Show Me More: Paranormal Horror

Scattered Screams: (The Disruption, Book One) by C.A. Huggins

Scattered Screams: (The Disruption, Book One)C.A. Huggins

99¢

Available Through June 22 at

Deal availability may change without notice! Prices may vary from store to store. Due to international copyright, availability and pricing may vary outside of the US.

DESCRIPTION:

For fans of The Walking Dead, The 5th Wave series, and 28 Days Later, Scattered Screams is a diverse take on post-apocalyptic thrillers…

Their cross-country college visit was supposed to be a bonding experience between Marcus and son, Ali.

Then, the Disruption triggered.

Marcus, Ali, and Vic (Ali's best friend) would have never imagined the sunny summer afternoon on campus would turn into the fight for their lives.

Now the world is split into two parts: before and after the Disruption.

The new world is akin to a war zone. But a war zone with no clear sides. Allies and foes might be one in the same as everyone attempts to survive.

Marcus's quest to return home to New York City with Ali and Vic before the new disrupted world chips away at their humanity. They attempt to make it across 3,000 miles of terrain that is covered with mutants, enemies and otherworldly threats.

Lines of communication are disabled. The home they strive to return to may not exist anymore.

In a world surrounded by danger and violence, the only constant are the Scattered Screams.

Show Me More: Apocalyptic Horror