FREE & BARGAIN EBOOKS – {08-03-2020}

Baby Firefly Aug 03, 2020 | 0Comments
The Art of Dying by Derik Cavignano

The Art of DyingDerik Cavignano

FREE

Available Through August 03 at

Deal availability may change without notice! Prices may vary from store to store. Due to international copyright, availability and pricing may vary outside of the US.

DESCRIPTION:

AN AWARD-WINNING CRIME THRILLER REMINISCENT OF THE SILENCE OF THE LAMBS AND THE DEPARTED.

When the bizarre death of a mob foot soldier sparks an escalating war between Boston's Irish and Italian mafia, Detective Ray Hanley's relentless search for the truth uncovers evidence of a serial killer obsessed with the art of human suffering. As the body count rises, Detective Hanley must navigate a minefield of crime families, dirty politicians, and crooked cops, while matching wits with a deranged serial killer. But temptation, betrayal, and death threaten to derail the investigation... and justice doesn't come without a price.

14th Annual National Indie Excellence Awards Winner (thriller)

2019 American Fiction Awards Winner (general horror)

2019 Best Book Awards Winner (horror)

2019 American Fiction Awards Finalist (crime thrillers)

14th Annual National Indie Excellence Awards Finalist (horror)

From the author of COLONY OF THE LOST, a 2016 Silver Falchion Award Finalist for best horror

For fans of Thomas Harris, Michael Connelly, and Dennis Lehane

"Boston gets gory in this enjoyable, horror-tinged crime tale." -Kirkus Reviews

"An edge-of-your seat detective thriller that crackles with gore and wit before delivering a stunning knockout blow. Fans of The Silence of the Lambs should flock to Derik Cavignano's new series debut." --BestThrillers.com

"A highly suspenseful and delightfully twisted thriller with one of the creepiest villains in recent memory!" --Jeff Strand, four-time Bram Stoker Award nominee and author of MY PRETTIES.

"The Art of Dying blends drama and horror for a disturbing and gripping thriller." --Foreword Clarion Reviews

"Cavignano artfully misdirects the plot with family dramas and subtle clues, while keeping the cat-and-mouse conflict between Hanley and his quarry on track--all while the terror of the story's victims ratchets up the tension between chapters." --BlueInk Review

Show Me More: Horror

The Monk by Matthew Gregory Lewis

The MonkMatthew Gregory Lewis

BARGAIN

Available Through August 03 at

Deal availability may change without notice! Prices may vary from store to store. Due to international copyright, availability and pricing may vary outside of the US.

DESCRIPTION:

Supernatural events, women in distress, and a corrupt clergy were popular themes in the Gothic novels of the 19th century. All of those elements, along with murder, incest, and the excesses of the Spanish Inquisition, are present in The Monk (1796), one of the era's bestselling and most influential novels.
Set in a sinister Capuchin monastery in Madrid, the ever-more horrifying narrative recounts the experiences of a lustful and devious abbot, who forgoes his monastic vows in the face of temptation and sexual obsession. Seduced by an evil woman and intoxicated by desire, he assaults an innocent young girl and -- to conceal his guilt -- murders her mother. For these and other unholy offenses, he is apprehended and imprisoned, where he is subject to unpleasant treatment at the hands of the ecclesiastical authorities. In order to escape, he sells his soul to the devil, discovering in the aftermath the grim consequence of his horrifying acts.
The most famous work in the otherwise unremarkable literary production of "Monk" Lewis, the novel's anticlericalism and heavy-breathing eroticism earned it a scandalous reputation in its time that was still intact 100 years after its publication. Today, more than two centuries later, the unvarnished crime and passion of The Monk still retain the ability to jar readers -- even those inured to the violence and degradation of modern life. A masterpiece of Gothic storytelling, the book remains, as Samuel Taylor Coleridge noted, "rich, powerful, and fervid."

Show Me More: Horror

Untold Mayhem: An Assortment of Violence by Mark Tullius

Untold Mayhem: An Assortment of ViolenceMark Tullius

99¢

Available Through August 03 at

Deal availability may change without notice! Prices may vary from store to store. Due to international copyright, availability and pricing may vary outside of the US.

DESCRIPTION:

Discover the 24 Unique Stories of Madman and Monsters. Crime Stories Filled with Suspense, Horror, and Mystery.

Immerse yourself into the world of untold mayhem. Every story inside has its unique character that has a dark secret.

Follow the trail of mystery events, where suspense and horror are waiting around every corner.

Inside you will find lurking some of the most disturbed and violent characters out there.

Follow the story of a tarot reader who makes house calls. Is she a complete fraud or is something sinister happening behind the curtains?

Or a story of an ex-con who can't resist carrying out one last home invasion. What dark and twisted events has fate prepared for him?

Maybe you will enjoy the story of bickering business partners that resorted to unconventional mediation hoping that that will solve their problems. Will they or will something dark come between them?

Many more unique characters with even more unique stories are lurking inside. If you like suspense and horror, this is a must-read for you!

Show Me More: Horror Collections and Anthologies